Leadership Team

Co-Chair: Leslie Holland

leslieh Southern College of Optometry, Memphis, Tennesse.
Leslie Holland has been the Manager of Library Services at the Southern College of Optometry since 2013. In addition to serving as Co-Chair of AVSL, she’s the President of the Memphis Area Library Council, member of the Tenn-Share Electronic Resources Committee, and room parent. Her 18+ year career has spanned public libraries, publishing, school libraries, academic libraries, speial academic, and special libraries.

Co-Chair: Dede Rios

dederRosenberg School of Optometry, University of the Incarnate Word, San Antonio, Texas

Dede Rios is the Director of Optometric & Clinical Library Services for the Rosenberg School of Optometry, University of the Incarnate Word in San Antonio, TX. She holds a Master of Science (Library) from the University of North Texas, and a PhD in Leadership in Higher Education from Capella University.  She is a new senior member of the Academy of Health Information Professionals, and an active member of TLA, MLA, SCC/MLA, and AVSL.

Treasurer: Elaine Wells

SUNY College of Optometry, Harold Kohn Vision Science Library, New York, New York



Membership: Trish Duffel

trishduffel-2016University of Iowa, Department of Ophthalmology and Visual Sciences, C.S. O’Brien Library, Iowa City, Iowa

Trish Duffel has been the librarian for University of Iowa’s Department of Ophthalmology & Visual Sciences since 1991. She is heavily involved in her department’s web presence and is the Executive Director and Editor of EyeRounds.org, a popular educational website of UI Ophthalmology. She holds an MA in Library and Information Science from The University of Iowa and a Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy from The University of Texas, Austin.

Archivist: Gale Oren

20060716213357no_personUniversity of Michigan Kellogg Eye Center, John W. Henderson Library, Ann Arbor, Michigan

Leadership Team Organization

The leadership team includes a Chair, a Secretary/Chair-elect, and a Treasurer. The Chair and the Secretary/Chair-elect hold office for two years, while the Treasurer serves for an unspecified time. The current and last two Chairs serve as a committee to nominate the next Secretary/Chair-elect. The Secretary/Chair-elect nominee is subject to approval by Association members.

Past Leadership:


  • 2014-2016, Kristen Motte, New England College of Medicine
  • 2011-2014, D.J. Matthews, Marshall B. Ketchum University
  • 2009-2011, Gale Oren, University of Michigan Kellogg Eye Center
  • 2008-2009, Pamela Sieving, National Institutes of Health
  • 2007-2008, Cindy Hutchison, New England College of Optometry
  • 2006-2007, Pamela Sieving, National Institutes of Health
  • 2004-2005, Elaine Wells, SUNY College of Optometry
  • 2002-2003, Maureen Watson, Michigan College of Optometry
  • 2000-2001, Bette Anton, University of California, Berkeley
  • 1998-1999, Judith Schaeffer-Young, Wills Eye Hospital
  • 1996-1997, Douglas Freeman, Indiana University
  • 1994-1995, Gerald Dujsik, Illinois College of Optometry
  • 1992-1993, Madelyn Hall, Good Samaritan Hospital & Medical Center
  • 1990-1991, Lynne Silvers, New England College of Optometry
  • 1988-1989, Bette Anton, University of California at Berkeley
  • 1986-1987, Laurel Gregory, Pacific University
  • 1984-1985, Suzanne Ferimer, University of Houston
  • 1982-1983, Pat Carlson, Southern California College of Optometry
  • 1980-1981, Eleanor Warner, New England College of Optometry
  • 1978-1979, Nancy Gatlin, Southern College of Optometry
  • 1976-1977, Peg Lewis, SUNY College of Optometry
  • 1974-1975, Alison Howard, University of California at Berkeley
  • 1972-1973, Elizabeth Egan
  • 1970-1971, Tom Lange
  • 1968-1969, Grace Weiner, Los Angeles College of Optometry


  • 1999-2010, Judith Schaeffer Young, Dixon School of Nursing Library
  • 1994-1998, Laurel Gregory, Pacific University
  • 1982-1993, Alison Howard, University of California at Berkeley
  • 1976-1981, Pat Carlson, Southern California College of Optometry


  • Doug Freeman, Indiana University
  • 1986-1988, Maria Dablemont, International Museum & Archives of Optometry



Last Updated:  11/22/2016